bread, Uncategorized

No Knead Bread

Oh the carbs, the different textures,  flavors, shapes and colors! I have a love hate relationship with the stuff. Growing up we had your standard sandwich breads in the house but my parents used to buy bolillos from the markets, my mom used to eat them up because she LOVES bread. Seriously. She’s originally from Bolivia but grew up in Chile where tea time is serious business. Much like England, the spreads they have at tea time qualify as another meal in itself. I remember when we used to visit, my mom’s friend used to send her nanny to the bakery to pick up fresh bread everyday for tea time. That’s when I really fell in love with bread. When we used to visit my aunt in Chile there was a bakery right on the corner and OMG the smell!! I used to love the smell that danced down the street from the open windows, it was intoxicating. If I could have a candle that smelled like real, freshly baked Chilean breads, I’d have one burning all day long.

As I got older I realized that bread/carbs aren’t so great for you and coming from a culture that cooks 80% of meals with carbs, I was distraught. Over the years I’ve eaten less rice, sweets and bread but I still love to make fresh bread to eat with some meals. Since me and my husband got married and had our kids, I wanted to save some money by baking my own stuff. I hardly made bread before but thanks to the internet and a book I stole borrowed from my mom, I started experimenting. Over the last 6 years I’ve learned to perfect some techniques and this is the recipe that I use for soup bread.

This boule bread was the flood gate recipe because of how easy it is! Before I made this I made sandwich bread but was wanting that kind of crusty, artisan style bread you see on tv and in bakeries. Another push was because those things are pretty pricey, I’ve seen them for $4.99 a loaf and I’m trying to cut small grocery costs. My first try at it wasn’t so pretty but boy did it taste good. I used some random 5 minute artisan bread recipe I found online ( I can’t locate the exact one at the moment) and made due with a pizza stone and the oven.

336182_10150361796422008_294040272_o.jpg
Not using chilled dough.

 

It came out a bit flat because it was free formed. The trick I did learn was that it’s easier to form the sticky dough once it’s been in the fridge for a couple of hours so if you don’t have a Dutch oven like I didn’t, it’ll help with forming the loaf. Most recipes I found required a Dutch oven but I didn’t want to dish out the $60 to get a decent one. I tried different variations with using whole wheat flour and also used it as a pizza dough, which is delicious btw!! Also every time I made the bread I used bread flour since the gluten content was higher and would help make a chewier bread without having to knead it.

 

278174_10151090089442008_114093168_o.jpg
A jalapeno cheddar version, this was using chilled dough.

 

I kept making the dough and then after a while sort of stopped. NO reason, just was because I was trying to cut back on carbs after each pregnancy and I’d eat a whole loaf, well, both of us we all would. I found out quickly that my husband and my children love bread.

Just recently I tried my hand at it again because I bought a Dutch oven!! I don’t know why I didn’t buy one years ago, seriously, they’re amazing. I bought one at Burlington for $39 and it’s worth every penny! After my first bread, it was love at first sight all over again. My husband destroyed the loaf and wondered why I haven’t made it in a long time. If you have a Dutch oven, MAKE THIS BREAD. It’s seriously so easy, if you’re just starting out in the bread world then this is a great starter.. It would sit well in the fridge for a few days and would be great as pizza dough.

 

13438869_10154746909742008_4016313267315453869_n

Seriously, look at that gorgeous thing! If you’re having soup for dinner, start it in the morning and cook it an hour before eating. It’s great soup bread!

No knead Dutch oven bread recipe link– Recipe copied and pasted below.

*I’ve also done this in the 4 hour time fame in a pinch and it’s worked out fine.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for shaping
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon Red Star active dry yeast
  • 1½ cups warm water (about 110 to 115 degrees F)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk flour, salt and yeast until well mixed. Pour in warm water and use a wooden spoon to stir until a shaggy dough forms. The mixture will be wet and very sticky to the touch.
  2. Cover bowl tightly with plastic wrap and set aside in a warm place 8 to 18 hours until dough rises, bubbles and flattens on top.
  3. Heat oven to 450 degrees F. Once oven is preheated, place a 6-quart Dutch oven (with cover) in oven 30 minutes before baking.
  4. Punch down dough. Generously flour a sheet of parchment paper; transfer dough to parchment and, with floured hands, quickly shape into a ball. Place dough on parchment paper and sprinkle top lightly with flour. Top with a sheet of plastic wrap and let rest 30 minutes.
  5. Remove Dutch oven from oven. Uncover dough and carefully transfer to Dutch oven, with or without parchment paper beneath (if bottom of Dutch oven is not coated with enamel, keep parchment paper beneath dough). Cover Dutch oven and return to oven.
  6. Bake bread 45 minutes covered, then another 10 to 15 minutes uncovered until dough is baked through and golden brown on top. Cool slightly before slicing

 

Leave a Reply

