bread, Breakfast, kid friendly, quick, quick bread

No Yeast Cinnamon Rolls

A few years ago I came across this recipe while on the hunt for a quick cinnamon roll recipe. I always have regular yeast on hand but didn’t have rapid rise yeast, still, it would be a few hours before I ate any rolls. After a lengthy google search I came across this recipe and tried it out. Oh man, was it delicious! I’ve never had canned cinnamon rolls, I’m one of those few people who don’t really enjoy the flavor of canned dough. They just taste oily and not bread like at all, I’d much rather take the time to make a biscuit dough. Don’t get me wrong, I use canned crescent dough for different things but I just don’t get it often.

Anyhow, I woke up this morning wanting something not healthy so I figured these would do the trick!  While I made these I threw a banana and a little bowl of dry cereal their way to keep them quiet until these were done. Here, if I’m going to bake something in the morning I need to feed them 1st breakfast before the proper 2nd breakfast, otherwise they don’t leave me alone.

The dough is pretty delicate so from previous experience, rolling it up in plastic wrap was easier and less messy. I didn’t mix mine too much but you could use a good amount of flour on your hands to make sure it’s mixed well for a smoother dough. Me, I didn’t care because it tastes the same anyways!

 

dsc_0796DSC_0800.JPG

DSC_0811.JPG

They don’t look the greatest but they taste exactly like a cinnamon roll. It’s like having little individual cinnamon roll coffee cake. I only had strawberry cream cheese on hand but you know what, it wasn’t too bad! Plus with it being Valentine’s Day soon, pink frosting fit right in.

 

So if you’re looking for a quick recipe to use in the morning, give these a try. They are kid approved!

dsc_0822

Original recipe: Recipe Girl’s No Yeast Cinnamon Rolls

Makes 12 rolls

Ingredients

Filling:
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Dough:
2 cups bread flour, plus more for rolling
2 tablespoons granulated white sugar
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 large egg

Cream Cheese Frosting:
2 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
2/3 cup powdered sugar
3 tablespoons milk (I used buttermilk)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spray a cupcake tin generously with non stick cooking spray.
  2. Prepare the filling: In a small bowl, combine the filling ingredients with a fork until a crumbly mixture is formed.
  3. Prepare the dough: In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Use clean hands (or a pastry blender) to work the butter into the dry ingredients.
  4. Add egg into the milk and whisk. Add wet into dry ingredients and stir to combine.
  5. Lay down a large sheet of plastic wrap, sprinkle evenly with flour.
  6. Roll the dough into roughly shaped large rectangle (about 1/4-inch thick). Sprinkle the filling evenly over the surface of the dough, leaving a 1/2-inch border all the way around and then gently press filling down. Carefully roll up the dough starting at the end nearest you using the plastic wrap. Use a sharp knife to cut 12 rolls. Carefully place the rolls in the prepared muffin tin.
  7. Bake 20 to 25 minutes. While the cinnamon rolls are baking, prepare the frosting: Combine the cream cheese, powdered sugar and milk in a medium bowl. Whisk to combine. Add a little more milk if you wish to have a thinner frosting. Spread the frosting on top of warm rolls or drizzle on top. Serve warm.

 

3 thoughts on “No Yeast Cinnamon Rolls”

Leave a Reply

